Week 2 Addictions

Blog Post Summer 2014 Addictions

  • After reviewing the web references for this week, discuss what types of approaches are you more comfortable with?

The type of approaches I feel comfortable with are Cognitive Behavioral Approach because I have experience working with this approach during my time at RICA Baltimore.

 

  • What strengths do you have as an individual to assist someone similar to Sahira?

One of my strengths as an individual that I can use to assist someone similar to Sahira is empathy. I would also bring a non-judgmental attitude towards my clients. I am all about building my clients up rather than judging and questioning them. I am always a positive person so, I hope my clients will be able to see it in my approach.  Motivational interviewing seems pretty intriguing but, I am not sure how much I will be able to motivate my clients even though I have never had a drug addiction.

 

  • What are areas that you might feel you need to work on?

I think need to work one being more assertive with my clients so that I will not allow my clients take control over the sessions and fully understand the many aspects of the counseling process. I need to understand more of the various treatment for substance abuse. I need to make sure not to become sympathetic towards my clients and not to have pity towards my clients.  

 

3 Comments

  1. Hey Adam!

    I think starting out with the base of empathy is important for the counseling profession because we need to be able to put ourselves in our clients shoes but be objective as well. The clients we will be encountering will have emotional and physical baggage that they will unload onto us. Self care is also important so we are able to function as adults as well. It is important to feel for others but let the clients own their emotions and experiences because this is something they are being a part of, we are on the outside looking in.

    I think assertiveness is an important trait to have as well because some clients may be all over the place with their thoughts and it will be our responsibility to help guide the conversations in a more constructive manner.

    I am hoping with continued experience with classes as well as our future practicum we will be able to hone into our experiences!

    • Jen,

      Thank you very much for your comment. I agree with your statements about empathy, because we should pity our clients or look down on them.

      Self-care is a very important aspect of counseling because it is beneficial to ourselves and our clients. Self-care is something I continue to struggle with. I need to a strong and genuine effort to make sure I am taking care of myself and to make sure my clients are receiving the best care.

  2. Adam:

    I think I may have the opposite problem from you in that I maybe to assertive with clients, especially addicts. Having grown up with addicts in my family, I feel like I have seen and heard every tool addicts employ to continue with their addiction. But I think it’s key to draw on your skills as a counselor to know when to be empathic and non-judgmental vs. assertive and firm. Thank you!

Leave a comment